Toronto Gluten-free Events!

For my first post I thought I’d start off by talking a little bit about events that are happening in my area. Whether these events are new or I’m just slow to take notice, it makes me happy to see them popping up everywhere. So far I’ve only found three, but that doesn’t mean I’m not always looking for more! If you know of some, feel free to share 🙂

April 28th (10am-4pm)
Apparently there was a Gluten-Free Garage last November and I missed out! Not this year though! While not quite as large as the Gluten-Free Expo (see below), with 50+ vendors, food prepared on site, and guest speakers, this event has enough to draw me in (did I mention they also have free tote bags too?). They have found a lovely location too, at the Artscape Wychwood Barns, located just south of St. Clair Avenue in Toronto.
For more information about this event, check out their website: http://glutenfreegarage.ca/event-details/

June 7th-9th
I am pleased to say I found a new event! The 2013 National Conference run by the Canadian Celiac Association, held at Mississauga’s International Centre.
During that conference (on the 8th from 9am to 5pm) is Canada’s Gluten-Free Market. Sounds like another great opportunity to learn, sample, and buy great items!
To learn more about the conference and register, click here.
To learn about the market, click here.

September 6th (4-9pm), 7th (12-9pm), and 8th (12-7pm)
Coming back for its 29th years is the Vegetarian Food Festival! While I’m not a vegetarian myself, I do appreciate a good vegetarian meal and this festival offers plenty of them! Not only do they offer a wide range of vegetarian products but many sellers and food stalls also offer gluten-free products! The event is held at the Harbourfront Centre, and on a lovely day, what could be better than fresh air and a nice meal with friends? Actually, even better than that… It’s free AND you get free stuff.
Need I say more?For more information, visit http://festival.veg.ca/

September 14th (4-8pm) and 15th (10am-5pm)
Last September I went to the Gluten-Free Expo, Canada’s largest Gluten-free event, held at the DoubleTree Hotel (near Toronto Pearson Airport), and although it was quite crowded,  I had a great time! Lots of new products to see and sample, and many good bargains too! I’m pleased to see that this year it’s not only  moving to a bigger venue (the Metro Toronto Convention Centre) but it will also be two days! Great to see events like this growing!
For more information on the Gluten-Free Expo in Toronto, visit their website! http://glutenfreeexpo.ca/on/toronto/

That’s all for now!

Cheers,
Rhi

Leave a Reply

