Cumin – I hate it. There. I said it.

I often hear people say that eating a nice hot soup is much more enjoyable when eaten during the winter. It seems to make sense to me…but then I thought “then why haven’t I made any soups this winter?” With winter coming to a close (hopefully soon) I decided to experiment with a new soup! For Christmas, I received a cookbook called “500 Best Quinoa Recipes” by Camilla V. Saulsbury. I haven’t made much anything from it, despite having it for 3 months now, so I wasn’t sure what the quality of the recipes were but nonetheless, I picked up the book and decided to test out a soup.

“Roasted Cauliflower Quinoa Soup”

 “Sounds interesting and looks easy enough…And hey! I have cauliflower in the fridge that needs to be eaten. Excellent!” I thought, and off I went~
1. You start by coating the  cauliflower (about 6-8 cups of it) in a little bit of oil and salt. Then you roast it in the over at 450°F for approximately 35 minutes.
2. In a large point, heat up a couple of teaspoons of oil over medium heat and add 2 cups of chopped onions (stirring for about 6-8 minutes).
3. Then you add the roasted cauliflower, 1/2 cup of quinoa flakes, 2 teaspoons of ground cumin ….

Wait. Stop. What? Sigh. Here’s the thing you need to know about me… when I bake I carefully look over the ingredients and make sure I have everything I need. When I cook… well, let’s just say I prefer to be a bit artistic sometimes (yes, that’s just my way of saying I “wing” it) so of course I didn’t notice that the ONLY spice in this soup was cumin. So when a person doesn’t like an ingredient, it seems normal to leave it out, right? Apparently I’m not normal because I went and added it anyways (although I lessened the amount by 1/2 a teaspoon – not that that would make a difference, I suppose). Oh well, carrying on.

Add the cumin, 6 cups of water and a bit of salt. Bring to a boil, then reduce the heat and let simmer for 20 minutes, or until the cauliflower is incredibly soft.
4. When time is up, transfer the soup to a food processor or use an immersion blender in the pot. (My advice, if you’re using the food processor, do it in batches. Throwing all the soup in at once could be disastrous.) Then add 1 1/2 tablespoons of lime (although I had limes, I chose to add lemon instead since that’s what I prefer). Sprinkle with a bit of cilantro, et voilà!

I might not hate cumin after all.

I really had no idea what to expect when I saw this recipe – especially once I saw the cumin – and, I have to say, I’m pleasantly surprised by it!! (Doesn’t that make it even better? Having no, or low, expectations and then being blown away by it?) It’s actually really good (even better when served with a delicious gluten-free dinner roll!). Everything blends together so well yet at the same time I can taste the cauliflower, cumin, lemon, and cilantro separately.
On a cold winter’s day, this soup is great! Heck… even if it’s not a cold winter’s day, it’s still great!

Cheers,
Rhi

Roasted Cauliflower Soup

3 thoughts on “Cumin – I hate it. There. I said it.

  1. I absolutely hate the over-used spice cumin. Any time I see “Mexican” in any context related to food it is cumin. If forced I can swallow it without gagging, but why oh why is it so over-used? I avoid entire categories of pre-made things like soups because it will probably be there.

Leave a Reply

