So much whip cream!

This past weekend, in celebration of my father and sister’s birthdays, I made something I’ve wanted to make for a long time… Roll cake! Too be honest, I’m not sure what they call it here (maybe Jelly Roll?) but in Japan they called it roll cake. Every where you look in Japan you can find roll cakes (along with macarons and cutely shaped breads). I lived in Japan for a year, returning in 2010, and ever since then I’ve wanted to try my hand at making one of those cakes. Why haven’t I until now? No idea really, but on Saturday I decided to give it a go.

The process wasn’t all that difficult, although I did run into a few bumps along the way.
1. I used my great-aunt’s sponge cake recipe (adapting it to make it gluten-free, of course); and poured it into a 1 inch deep baking sheet.

2. While the cake was baking, I sliced some strawberries and left them to soak in some sugar water.

3. Once the cake was cooled, I whipped some heavy cream (and a little sugar) to use as both the filling and topping.

4.Next came the assembly! I slathered the cake in whip cream (which had thickened up quite a bit) and then took the time to add the strawberries, one by one. I guess in my excitement to finish the cake, I forgot that putting the cream and strawberries right to the edge of   the cake was not a good idea. As I started to roll the cake, there was too much filling at the beginning and thus it got pushed out the sides and further down the cake! “Oh well,” I thought, “it just means I get to eat all that filling now”, and I kept rolling my cake.

5.Once I finished rolling the cake (and after making sure it didn’t want to unroll) I covered the outside in more whip cream! Safe to say, this wasn’t the healthiest of cakes, although it could have been worse… right?

End result: Although it wasn’t a perfectly round roll cake, it definitely was delicious!! I was in heaven! (Although I’m starting to think I’m always in heaven when I’m eating good food haha). The biggest compliment was seeing my father, who is a very picky eater, devour his slice and go back for more! Safe to say that yet again, I was a very happy baker!

Roll Cake!

You would think after making (and eating) all that whip cream, I’d be sick of it? Well, apparently not! This coming weekend I’m off to another birthday event and I’ll be bringing chocolate cupcakes with Baileys whip cream topping! I’ll be sure to post pictures next week!

Hope you are all having a wonderful week!
Cheers,
Rhi

Leave a Reply

