MMmacarons!

First off, just so we are clear, this post is about the super yummy French “macaron” (pronounced “mah-kah-rohn”), NOT the coconutty “macaroons” (pronounced “mah-kah-roo-ns”). I have nothing against macaroons, they are also yummy, but this post is about macarons. Now that that’s out of the way, on with the post!

I first ate macarons when I was vacationing in Paris, France in 2011. Knowing that they are of French origin, I did my research beforehand and found one of the best places to get them – Pierre Hermé. First thought when I tried them: “these are morsels of heavenly goodness!!!” (Second thought: I want more!!! ..I’m pretty sure over the course of the week I had about 20-30. I would have had more but they are expensive!) Despite this deep love for them, however, I haven’t eaten many since then. Well a few weeks ago, I was visiting a friend and we got on the topic of macarons. Long story short, she had a cookbook all about macarons and asked if I would like to borrow it – naturally I said yes!

Well, I finally got around to making them this week, I was a little disappointed with myself for not checking the actual temperature of my oven (i.e. not what the screen on the oven says but the ACTUAL temperature using an oven thermometer), which the cookbook had told me to do, until I was baking my second batch. My oven is only a year old (or so) so I thought, “set to 320, it will be 320″. Unfortunately this was not the case! So one batch was much more brown than they should have been  – that being said, it didn’t stop me from using them anyways. I made an almond custard filling to go with the almond (plain) flavoured macarons, and oh-so carefully sandwiched the macarons together, then I left them in the fridge for 24 hours. (**NOTE. Don’t eat macarons in the first 24 hours, they need time to set! If you do you will be disappointed as they are fairly crunchy.)

The time finally came to taste my creations. I took a bite… and once again was in heaven!! Even the ones that were overcooked somehow transformed into something yummy (although not as good as the properly cooked batch haha). They were so good in fact I ate 4, and my family had their fair share as well! They aren’t overly complicated and only take about 2-3 hours to make, so I think I will be making a lot of these in the future!

Macarons are really wonderfully. They look cute, taste great, make great presents and you can even freeze them for a few months. Also the variety of flavours is practically endless! Oh and the best part? They are naturally gluten-free since they are made from ground almonds!!!! What’s that? You have a nut allergy? Well it turns out there’s a NUT-FREE receipe, using quinoa flakes, in this cookbook too!! So I encourage everyone to either go out and buy some macarons or make them yourselves, right now! You will not be disappointed!! For those interested in the cookbook I used, it’s called ” “Mad about Macarons” by Jill Colonna.

Cheers and enjoy!
Rhi

Macarons

Leave a Reply

