My Baby Basil

Just a short post because I feel like sharing…. I bought a basil plant! One of my favourite, simple little things to make is pesto sauce. I make it using a variety of greens, like spinach, kale, and of course, the traditional basil. So when I was at the store the other day, there were these little basil plants (only about $2.50 CDN) and I thought, well wouldn’t that be wonderful to have fresh basil on hand whenever I wanted? So I bought one and am giving it plenty of love and care (and sunshine) in my bedroom. I think I’ll buy another one and try planting it outside in my garden. It’ll be interesting to see how the two of them grow in their different environments (plus, if the weather is horrible…or the animals get to it… at least I know the one in my house is safe!).

Speaking of gardens, now that it’s Spring, it’s time to start planting vegetables again! Every year I have a variety of vegetables I plant. The usual being yellow and green runner beans, potatoes, carrots, onions (the asparagus are already coming up lovely), and last year I added jalapeňo peppers to the garden, which were soooooooooooo good! I wonder what else I should add this year. Any thoughts?

Happy gardening and eating everyone!

Cheers,
Rhi

Leave a Reply

