Smoothie Addiction

I have developed a slight addiction to smoothies recently… I pretty much have a smoothie every day without fail, and more often than not, it’s the exact same one too.

In late May, a co-worker of mine went on a 15-day smoothie cleanse/diet. For the first 5 days she replaced all her main meals (in other words, breakfast, lunch, and dinner) with smoothies. For days 6-10, she replaced 2 of the 3 meals with smoothies and the last 5 days she only had smoothies for one of her meals. When she first told me she was doing this, I thought she was insane. Yes, she was a allowed certain (measured out) snacks, but how could a person have smoothies for 15 days straight??  By the afternoon of the first day she was also wondering how she’d handle it but by the third day she was loving it. Eventually curiosity got the best of me and I  agreed to try some of her “PB & J” smoothie. I’ve had smoothies before, and for the most part enjoy them, but this smoothie was on a whole new level! It was like a peanut butter and jam sandwich in a smoothie form! Safe to say, I was hooked almost instantly.

Since June I have been hauling out my magic bullet every day after work to make smoothies. A couple of times I have made the ol’ mixed berry smoothie that I used to adore but now it just doesn’t seem to cut it. My favourite it still the “PB&J”. Below I’ve written out the ingredients for 2 smoothies, one’s is the PB & J, the other is a green smoothie. I don’t have any exact measurements for them, I just play it by ear. I hope you enjoy!

PB & J Smoothie

1 Banana, 2-3 strawberries, 1-2 tablespoons peanut butter, soy milk (or your milk of choice), 1-2 tablespoons hemp powder.

Kale Green Smoothie

Couple of leaves of kale, 1 apple, a couple of mint leaves, ground ginger (the amount depends on how gingery you’d like it), dash of lime juice, 1 banana, and either water or your choice of milk.

That’s all for today! Happy smoothie drinking!
Cheers,

Rhi

Leave a Reply

