So Many Options!

I’ve been living in my new place for about 3 months now (yay!). It took me about a month to get organized and it was around then that I realize I can’t keep eating quick & basic meals because I’m still “unpacking and not quite settled in”. (Let’s face it, I’m not a student so I shouldn’t be eating like one.) So I sat down with a couple of cookbooks and started planning meals. I have a lot of cookbooks that I’ve only used one or two recipes from (if that), so I have decided that at least once a week I will try a new recipe! (I can’t guarantee that I’ll be updating my blog each and every time I try a new recipe but hopefully at least once a month I will have a post about this.)

Last month I made Broccoli & Cheddar soup, a Thai Red Curry, Lasagna, and Risotto (to name a few).
This month I’ve made my take on Chicken Noodle soup and last night, I made meatloaf! It’s my first time making meatloaf and I thought it turned out pretty well. It’s a simple enough recipe, using ingredients that most people usually have in their pantry, and there is plenty of room to change it up and make it your own!

 

INGREDIENTS:

1/2 cup ketchup
1/3 cup brown sugar
1/4 cup lemon juice, divided
2 teaspoons mustard
2 pounds ground beef
2/3 cup gluten free bread crumbs
1/4 cup chopped onion
1 egg, beaten
Spice (dried basil, oregano, coriander, etc. Take your pick!)

DIRECTIONS:

1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees F (175 degrees C).
2. In a small bowl, combine the ketchup, brown sugar, 1 tablespoon lemon juice and mustard.
3. In a separate large bowl, combine the ground beef, bread, onion, egg, remaining lemon juice and 1/3 of the ketchup mixture from the small bowl. Mix this well and place in a 5×9 inch loaf pan.
4. Bake at 350 degrees F (175 degrees C) for 1 hour, drain any excess fat, coat with remaining ketchup mixture and bake for 10 more minutes.

And that is that!

Enjoy!

Rhi 🙂

Leave a Reply

