Pies, Pies, Pies!

As I mentioned a month ago, I was going to make a few pies in June, and sure enough I did! Three pies to be exact – Pumpkin pie (who says pumpkin is only for October?!), Lemon Meringue pie, and Apple pie! And all gluten free of course!! (Gluten Free Pantry pie crust mix was used FYI). I shared the pies with coworkers and friends, and received nothing but good feedback; the best of all – they couldn’t tell it was gluten free!

Pies

As I’ve already posted my pumpkin pie and apple pie recipes on this blog, I’m only including the lemon meringue pie recipe, which I found on allrecipes.com: here. I’ve made a slight change to make it gluten free so I’ve typed out the recipe (also just in case they remove the recipe from the website at some point). 🙂

1 cup white sugar
2 tablespoons gluten free flour mix (I did 1 tbsp rice flour, 1 tbsp sorghum flour)
3 tablespoons cornstarch (I actually used a mix of tapioca starch and potato starch)
1/4 tsp salt
1 1/3 cups water
2 medium/large lemons, juiced and zested
2 tablespoons butter
4 egg yolks, beaten
4 egg whites
6 tablespoons white sugar
(one pie crust)

I thought it would be quite difficult to make but, surprisingly, not so – there are really only 3 steps involved. Before you begin, preheat your oven to 350 degrees F.

Step 1 making the lemon filling.
In a medium saucepan, whisk together 1 cup sugar, flour, cornstarch, and salt. Stir in water, lemon juice and lemon zest. Cook over medium-high heat, stirring frequently, until mixture comes to a boil. Stir in butter. Place egg yolks in a small bowl and gradually whisk in 1/2 cup of hot sugar mixture. Whisk egg yolk mixture back into remaining sugar mixture. Bring to a boil and continue to cook while stirring constantly until thick. Remove from heat. Pour filling into baked pastry shell.

Step 2  making the meringue
In a large glass or metal bowl (I used my precious Kitchen Aid mixer <3), whip egg whites until foamy. Add sugar gradually, and continue to whip until stiff peaks form. Spread meringue over pie, sealing the edges at the crust.

***When you’re covering the filling with the meringue it is very important that you spread the meringue right to the crust (actually going past it a bit) because you want to seal all the edges. If you don’t, the meringue will shrink and shift while it cooks and while it’s cooling in the fridge, leaving the filling exposed. (Speaking from experience… haha)

Step 3 is baking the pie for 10 minutes, or until meringue is golden brown.

I suppose if you haven’t made the pie dough ahead of time, there would be an extra step – but I highly recommend making it either the day before or at least an hour before (as it will take time to set in the fridge… IF you are using the pie mix I used.)
I let mine set in the fridge overnight before trying it. My recommendation is, eat it within the first couple of days, otherwise the meringue will be very hard to cut (and by hard I mean difficult; the meringue won’t actually become harder but instead become very very sticky!!)

Meringue Pie

Alright, I think that’s enough writing from me for now! If you try out the lemon meringue, I hope you enjoy it and feel free to share photos and comments!!

Cheers,
Rhi

Leave a Reply

